Ask Steve (Beta)

Okay, I’ve been around for awhile, and I’ve had my share of life experience, so I thought I’d try my hand as an advice columnist.  Or blogger.  I got some people with current life crises to send letters to see how I might handle ‘em.  See what you think:

Dear Steve,

Not long ago, my husband left me for a younger woman.  I had no idea that he was not happy in our marriage.  And to make it doubly devastating, I now find out that he and his skanky new girlfriend emptied our joint account.  I have no job, and now I may lose my home.  I have no idea where to turn.  I am desperate.  What should I do?

End of my Rope

Dear End,

How terribly upsetting.  It must be very difficult to deal with.  I feel just awful for you.  Hope things get better!

–Steve

____

Dear Steve,

I’m 32, and have been doing the same thing for a living since high school.   I work in a warehouse, but am sick to death of it.  I’m married and have a couple of kids, and can’t really afford to go back to school.  I need to pull myself out of this career hole, and advance, but I can’t do it without training.  What should I do?

Confused

Dear Confused,

Gosh, you’ve sure got me stumped.  You’re  going to have to do something aren’t you?  Well, best of luck in whatever you decide!

___

Dear Steve,

I recently caught a co-worker stealing office supplies and equipment at work.  I know that if I mention it to him, he’ll just laugh it off.  But it’s just wrong, and it makes me angry to see him ripping off the company like this.  If I report it, I know he’ll get fired, and he has two small kids, and his wife is on disability.  But if I don’t, he’ll keep stealing and it’ll be on my conscience as well.  I don’t know what to do.

In a Dilemma

Dear In a Dilemma,

Wow, I don’t either.  Either way you go, it’s going to cause trouble.  I sure hope whatever decision you make is the right one.  Best of luck!

__

So… what do you think?  Do I have a future at this?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by marilyn deneuf on February 6, 2012 at 1:30 PM

    Wow! Watch out Ann Landers

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bev on February 6, 2012 at 2:45 PM

    I think you’d be perfect. But then, I’ve never understood why so many people write to advice columnists with common-sense questions for which only they can provide the answers. What they need is someone like you to kick the ball back in their court where it belongs!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Brian Baney on February 7, 2012 at 5:09 AM

    Well, Steve. You certainly are in a conundrum. When I find myself in such a position, I tend to write about it in my blog and see what friends have to say. So, I’d go that route and see what your future may hold. Just my opinion.

    Reply

  4. Over the course of his career, Steve Smith has proved himself to be one of the most explosive and dynamic receivers in the National Football League. Though he is a little undersized (only five foot…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

