Thursday January 7th

Welcome to Biddle’s World.  Especially to my Face Book friends!  As you may or may not know, I did some blogging a few months ago.  It was the journal of my miserable, awful, Summer of  2009, a year that is now, thank God, dead and buried.  Of course, that’s the kind of thinking that makes you vulnerable to zombies.

Anyway, that was a depressing  journal.  But as I begin to climb out of the hole I’ve been in for awhile, I thought it might be fun to do a more upbeat, fun blog.  I’m going to try to post here every day, with some commentary, some fun links, occasionally serious stuff… but always with a positive attitude.  You may not agree with everything you read here, but there will hopefully be something you’ll like.

Yesterday on the way to my temporary job at WMFE, I drove past a couple of cops who had a guy on the ground in handcuffs.  Looked like a scene from COPS.  What struck me later is that I didn’t really think anything about  it.  Back in Happy Valley, it would have been a big deal, but here?  Meh.

Orlando has the distinction of being the #1 city in Florida for violent crime.  Yay. We’re number 1.  Nationally, #17.  But places like Camden, NJ, Detroit,  and New Orleans have a lot more practice than we do.

I can’t yet reveal details, but I’m working on a return to State College.  Hoping for mid-March.  Anybody have any ruby slippers?  I know they’d be uncomfortable, but if I can click ’em together and chant there’s no place like home….

Today’s Fun Stuff

  • Stop!  Are these displays graffiti? Vandalism? Art? Or just funny? I think, just this once, I’ll vote for funny.
  • Did you ever sit next to someone on a plane who wouldn’t stop talking?  Or took up way too much space?  I’d go with either of those over this seat partner any day… although you have to have some compassion for her as well:
  • And if you’re feeling a little self important today, a little full of yourself, take a look at this video from the Hubble Space Telescope.  It’ll put you in your place.  THIS is what the word awesome was supposed to be for.  Not the way it is now (as in “this pizza is awesome!”)

Okay, I have to go now.  I need to get out my cardboard and Sharpy and make a new  Will Do Voiceovers for Food sign.  Have a great day…

3 thoughts on “Thursday January 7th

  1. I blog often and I truly thank you for your information.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your blog and keep checking for new
    details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

Leave a Reply

