Wednesday January 13, 2010

One of the things that keeps occurring to me as I write this is the idea that some folks (maybe most) might be thinking what makes him think I want to read some stupid blog about Steve Biddle??

And that’s a perfectly good question.  So here’s why I write this:

1.  It’s a creative outlet for me, and I enjoy doing it, whether anyone reads it or not.  But I hope some folks do.

2.  It’s also somewhat therapeutic.

3.  I’m trying to discipline myself to commit to something like this — I want to post something every day.  Why?

4.  Because I’m developing some plans for the near future, which I still can’t talk about yet, and if all goes as planned, then this blog will morph into a companion piece to that endeavor.  Then it’ll all become clear.

And that’s why.  If you read this, thank you.  If  you actually want to subscribe by email, just click the button on the top right.  I also welcome comments, positive or negative.

If you haven’t checked out the Facebook group Growing up in Orlando Before Disney, take a look… particularly if you’re one of us who remembers Orlando back when it was a pleasant, small city.  Even if you didn’t grow up here, but are a frequent visitor,  you may find it interesting to join and see what Orlando was like then, and to read some of the memories.   Monday night, when I joined the group there were 600+ members.  As of this writing, there are 865!  It seems to be addictive for those of us who mourn the passing of the Orlando we loved.

Have you followed the flap about Senator Harry Reid and his… unfortunate… comments about Barack Obama?  If so, you may be amused by this SNL clip from the ’70s.  It’s a sketch starring Garrett Morris and guest Julian Bond.

I think I’ll just leave it at that.

Today’s Fun Stuff

  • Ever seen James Lileks’ site?  If not, it’s an amazingly interesting site, full of memorabilia, funny stuff, and Lileks’ hilarious commentary.  It’s sort of like discovering an attic that’s crammed with old postcards, menus, cookbooks, ads, pictures, etc.  Warning: you could spend hours there. And he’s just posted about 30 print ads from the past, some with appallingly (by our standards) politically incorrect content.  If you’d like to take a look… and I know you’ll find it interesting, go here.
  • You’ve seen Groundhog Day, right?  Of course you have.  Well, it turns out that there’s an actual mental disorder in which people have what you might call fake deja vu.  People who have this are constantly bored because they have a feeling that, whatever they’re doing or seeing, they’ve done it or seen it before.  Here’s an article about it.
  • And finally today, here’s a funny/cute video from Japan, about toilet training for little kids.  It’s sure different from anything we have here.  The talking toilet itself is worth the click!

Have a great day — and thanks for reading!  -Steve

Leave a Reply

