Friday January 22, 2010: Part of a Spiritual Awakening

(Now on Twitter!)

Wow.

The past few days have sure been an eye-opening experience.  Here’s the quick rundown:  On Tuesday night, I awoke about 12:30 with symptoms which could well have been a heart attack: numbness and tingling in my left arm, pain in the shoulder and upper chest, and a little bit of queasiness.  I went online and looked up heart attack symptoms, and although these particular symptoms weren’t the real classics, I was worried enough so that I called 9-1-1.

Minutes later, two fire engines and an ambulance pulled up in front of my apartment with lights flashing.  This, of course, caused neighbors to peer through their blinds… and some threw on clothes and came outside to see what was up.   Six or seven assorted EMTs and other first responders came in and started an EKG immediately.    Then, I was bundled into an ambulance and taken to Florida Hospital Orlando.

Went through an echocardiogram, an ultrasound, and the stress test.  Well, we’re still not sure what caused the pain, but the upshot of it is that now I know I have coronary artery disease (which actually, I already knew — I had an angioplasty ten years ago) and something new to worry about:  Type II diabetes.  This, luckily, is controllable through medication, diet and exercise.  My favorites!

By the way, I want to say here that everyone I dealt with at Florida Hospital was absolutely wonderful… and there were a good many of them.  Doctors, nurses, EMTs, technicians, the wheelchair-pushin’ guys — everyone.  They were friendly, caring, concerned and highly professional.   I know they were just doing their jobs, but they were doing those jobs very, very well, and for that I am extremely grateful.   

Boy, I just can’t wait for the government to take over our health care system, he said sarcastically.

Over the past six months, I’m afraid, I’ve not been taking care of myself.  When my life more or less fell apart back in June, I let things go: didn’t pay attention to what I was eating, actually started smoking again (long story in itself) and generally let myself deteriorate.

Now, here’s the interesting thing: recently, I’ve talked about the wonderful, uplifting spiritual transformation I’ve been going through, due largely to my experiences with the Unity Church here in Orlando.  In the past month or so, I’d been learning to allow God (or, if you prefer, Universal Spirit, Yahweh, Jehovah…) to take charge of my life.  I’ve spent a lot of time in prayer and meditation — but with a more metaphysical approach than I’ve ever before experienced.  And I’ve even started taking classes in becoming a Licensed Unity Teacher.  And I’ve started to learn to stop trying to force my life in particular directions, and listen and discover where I’m being led.

As a result, I’m beginning to see  a path opening before me, and things are beginning to fall into place.  And now I know that the experiences of this week are another sign:  it’s a signal to get back on the road to health and fitness, and to pay attention. In fact, I now realize that the entire past hellish six or seven months have been for a purpose.   And that purpose, of course, is still unfolding.  And really, it’s exciting to know that I have a chance to re-make my life.   I feel serene, confident, and optimistic about the future.  Problems?  Oh boy, have I got problems:  Underemployment, financial problems… you name it.  But although I don’t ignore them, I also don’t stew and fret about them either.  I have the guidance I need to get through them, and ultimately, all is well.

Again, thank you so very much for all the kind wishes and prayers… You’ll never know how much they are appreciated.

Onward and upward!   And have a great weekend!

–Steve

Today’s Fun Stuff

  • And for a mildly bizarre experience, unless you have photosensitive epilepsy, check out this optical illusion.  Just follow the instructions.

Have a great weekend!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jay on January 22, 2010 at 10:28 AM

    Glad you’re ok, sir!

    However, the comment about not liking gov’t run (low cost to the consumer) health care may bite you when you get the insurance bill. Although, Penn State insurance is pretty darn good.

    Reply

  2. Jay, it may well bite me, but it still won’t change my belief that the government should not be in the health care business.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Beverly Molnar on January 22, 2010 at 10:51 AM

    Amen, Steve. Given the choice between high quality and low cost, when it comes to health care I’ll take quality any day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

