Tuesday January 26, 2010: You Reap What You Sow

Follow on Twitter!

A great deal has been written over the past few years about the “Law of Attraction.” Briefly, it is the belief that your thoughts influence events — that both conscious and subconscious thoughts can affect the world around you, not just through motivation, but by other means as well. A quick Google search turned up 5,810,000 hits. Although it has been around for a long time, the Law of Attraction came into vogue a few years ago with the release of The Secret by Australian TV producer Rhonda Byrne.

I first heard of the Law of Attraction about 15 years ago, when I read a book called Maximum Achievement by Brian Tracy.  Actually, it’s a book on sales.  At the time I was trying my hand at media sales, and wanted to know how the top billers managed to achieve what they did.   I’m not a natural-born salesman, at least with traditional forms of sales.  I’ve written and produced literally thousands of radio commercials which arguably have boosted sales of everything from beer to cars.  But those results are undocumentable.  But the Law of Attraction intrigued me.

Of course, many scientists look at the whole idea with the sort of lofty contempt that only academics can muster.  It violates scientific principles! they say.  And to a degree, I think they’re correct.   The Secret, which is sort of hokey and over-produced, sends the message that all the successful, powerful, rich people in history have known this “secret.”  And the secret is that, boiled down to its essence, if you wish hard enough, and completely, thoroughly believe you can do it, you can get exactly what you want.

But I think it’s a lot more complex than that.  I do know that your conscious and subconscious thoughts and desires can affect your behavior, and the subconscious mind will start working toward your real goals.  I also know that if you go out into the world and project negative energy, that’s the sort of energy you get back.  For example, if you think everyone’s out to get you, and you look at people with suspicion, you will receive that sort of energy in return.  But if you think people are basically good, and treat everyone with courtesy and respect, you will receive respect and courtesy in return.

On Sunday, after I left the Unity Church, I had the same positive, upbeat, spiritually fulfilled attitude I always do when I go there.  I actually make it a practice to treat everyone with respect and courtesy every day, but on Sundays after church, I feel especially grateful and motivated by the Universal Spirit.  I came home to change clothes, and headed out to WMFE-FM to catch up on some work there.  As I was leaving the apartment, I spoke briefly with a neighbor, a young man I’d seen a few times before.  He always struck me as someone who was exceptionally friendly and outgoing.  We’d had only cursory contact of the how ya doin’? type.  And he had always responded with a huge grin and the words can’t complain!  It’s a beautiful day! Anyway, as I was getting in my car, he called after me and asked which way I was going.  Long story short, I went out of my way a few blocks and took him to a nearby ATM.

During our brief conversation, he radiated positive energy.  It turned out that he has no car, and walks pretty much everywhere.  It also turned out that he’s Haitian, and lost some family members in the earthquake.  Nonetheless, he was so full of joy for life that it was infectious.   The positive energy we shared multiplied itself, and by the time he got out of the car, we were friends, and parted ways feeling even better and more spirit-filled than before.

A couple of hours later, on the way home, I stopped at Publix Supermarket.  As I was leaving there, I noticed a very large young woman sitting in one of those scooters they have for people who have trouble getting around.  As I walked past her, she called out, “Sir!”  I turned around, and she asked me if there was any way I could give her a ride home — she too, had no car.  A few years ago, I would have made up some sort of excuse about how I had no time… friends waiting… too busy…  But not this time.  I told her I’d be delighted.  She offered me three crumpled up $1 bills for gas, which, of course, I turned down.

And we had a great conversation during the 10 or so minutes it took for me to get her home.  She’s lived in Orlando all her life (she’s only 31) and she told me some interesting things about her life and surroundings.

Coming home, I realized that I never would have met either of these folks if I had not been projecting positive energy — somehow they both trusted that I’d be okay to ask for help.  And somehow, I knew that they both really needed it, and that all was well.

This, then, is the Law of Attraction on its most basic level.  It does exist.  And there’s a lot more to it than that.  I believe we actually can and do affect events, other people, and our own fortunes through our thoughts, and our connection with spirit.

But more on that tomorrow.  Or sometime soon.  Now, it’s time for…

Today’s Curiosities (formerly Today’s Fun Stuff)

  • The airport at Gibraltar is apparently the only one in the world whose runway actually crosses a major highway!  Interesting pictures are here.
  • This is undoubtedly the strangest commercial I’ve ever seen.  Not sure it really is a commercial, but it’s a darned good short film anyway.  It’s for Nolan’s Cheddar, and it gets quite disturbing in the middle, but watch the whole thing anyway because it has a happy ending:

Have a fabulous and joyful day!

–Steve

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Steve! Thanks for the kind words in your email and for linking to my site today. The graham crackers are delicious – definitely worth a shot at least once. I always love finding new blogs so thanks for sharing yours!

    Reply

  2. Few people would have given those individuals a ride. Glad you had the experience to feel trusted. Karma comes to those who do good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

