Tuesday February 9, 2010: This Just In…

Ya gotta love it.  Here’s a headline from Reuters today:  Study Shows Why It Is So Scary To Lose Money. They needed a study for that?  All they had to do was call me and I could have easily explained why it is so scary to lose money.  I’ve had quite a bit of experience with that this year.

Here’s the article’s lede:

The study of two women with brain lesions that made them unafraid to lose on a gamble showed the amygdala, the brain’s fear center, activates at the very thought of losing money.

The finding, reported in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, offers insight into economic behavior and suggests that humans evolved to be cautious about the prospects of losing food or other valued possessions.

Gee, do ya think?

Now, please keep in mind that I’m not complaining.  My particular situation, well, it is what it is.  A lot of us are going through this sort of crisis now, which is mildly comforting.  And I know that one day, I’ll crawl out of this and stand on my own two feet again. But my job here is part time and temporary.  I have to watch every dollar.  I watch them constantly as they fly out the window (see illustration,)  and there are not nearly enough of them for me to keep my head above water right now.

Out the window it goes

I have no assets, I no longer own a home, I’m late on payments, and I don’t even want to know what my credit score is.  If my car breaks down, I’m screwed.  Adding to all that, I get paid once a month.  I have had to rely on the First National Bank of Mom more times than I care to think about, and frankly at my age that’s pretty embarrassing.  So, of course, I’m sharing it on the internet.

Even when I get back to Happy Valley, the road will be far from smooth.  But at least, as a friend said last night, my  tribe is in Happy Valley.  My comfort zone.  Again, I’m not complaining.  There’s a reason I’m going through all this, and some day, when I find out or figure out what that reason is, life as I know it will resume.

But I think I’ve come up with at least a partial solution.  Since I have little or nothing on my credit cards (which have very low limits anyway) I’m going to call up the credit card companies and tell them I have decided to raise my debt ceiling to a trillion dollars.  If Congress can do it, then why can’t I?  Okay, I guess maybe I don’t need quite a trillion dollars.  A cool billion ought to do it.

I can’t imagine why it wouldn’t work.  And I have no kids to whom to pass the debt when I’m gone, so it’ll die with me.

I think it’s a good plan.

Today’s Curiosities

Have a wonderful day!  — Steve

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jay on February 9, 2010 at 9:58 AM

    Steve,

    I think you should ask the CC companies to increase your limits to a billion. The back and forth would make a great book.

    Also, consider the guy who used Craigslist to trade a red paper clip for a house. He also got a ton of media attention and money.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

