Monday March 1, 2010: The Countdown Is On

I think I mentioned this a few weeks ago, but I hate moving.  In fact, I think I said I would literally rather have abdominal surgery than move.  This remains true.  Just to be clear: I can’t wait to be back home in State College.  It’s the moving I hate.  The packing and cleaning on one end… driving the truck from here to there while towing a car… and the unpacking and arranging on the other end.

I’ll pick up my moving truck on Saturday March 20th, and since I don’t have much help on this end, will have to load it pretty much by myself.  I think I can get a little help with the couch and recliner… but otherwise I’m on my own.   But there’s a long way to go before I can even begin to think about that.  The countdown, then is at T-minus 20 days and counting.  Let’s see, what have I done so far?  Why just yesterday I went to Radio Shack and bought a bag of those locking wire-wraps so I could organize my big box o’ wires and reduce space that way.   And I’ve gathered some boxes, and more are on the way.

A few years ago, the satirical newspaper The Onion printed a list of “Moving Day Tips.”  One of them was this: Six weeks before moving day,  fill one small box with books, seal it tightly, and write “books” on top in permanent marker.  Then do nothing more until the day before your move.” So far, I’m on target.

Luckily,  I don’t have nearly as much to move as I did once before.   That’s the practical silver lining in mycloud of financial and asset loss.  Sometimes you have to search for an upside, but there’s generally one hiding somewhere.  Whattya know?  There it is.  And I’m glad I live in a ground floor apartment.  Sure makes transporting the couch and recliner easier.

Of course I have at least one more move ahead of me after this.  I don’t plan on staying in my new place permanently, or actually any longer than I have to.  It’s pretty much the proverbial “roof over my head.”  Period.  That’s it.  A place to be while I’m looking for a real place to be.

Anyway, I’ll be on the air with the new talk show on WBLF on Monday March 29th.  And I’m really looking forward to it.

Apropos of nothing… I read this the other day, and tried it.  Now you try it:  While sitting at your desk, lift your right foot off the floor and make clockwise circles with it.  While doing this, draw the number “6” in the air with your right hand.  Your foot will change direction, and there’s nothing you can do about it.

I wonder who discovered that, and  how.

Today’s Curiosities

  • What was it like to go through the Chilean earthquake?  Take a look at this.  It’s more audio than video, but the terror is quite clear:

…have a great day!  –Steve



Leave a Reply

