Tuesday May 4, 2010: Bam! Crack!

So there I was on Sunday night, minding my own business, driving along I-99, when I saw a shadow flash across my field of vision… and… BAM!  Whatever it was scared the hell out of me.

And something was suddenly different.  Oh, yeah, that must be it:  the windshield was shattered, and one of

shattered

my windshield wipers was destroyed.   Y’know, if you’re going to have an accident in which an important part of your car is damaged, you really should have the satisfaction of knowing what it was that caused it. But when I pulled over, there was no sign of a large bird, a meteorite, or a bear cub which might have been tossed in my path. From the sound it made, I think it could only have been a bird.  I was not near an overpass (or an underpass) and there was no traffic anywhere around me.

I called the insurance company, but I have a $500 deductible.  And being in somewhat…uh… reduced circumstances, that was a major worry.

Sometimes on my show, I talk about things that have happened in my life, much like I do here on this blog.  So I told the story, and then had another one of those experiences that reinforces the gratitude I have for the people I meet.  When I got off the air, I had an email from a listener who told me that she and her husband own an auto repair service, and although they don’t handle auto glass, they have a good friend who does.  They had already called him, and he agreed to do the repair, at cost.  Now, I’ve never met these folks in person.  But they were ready, willing and able to help.  I’ll call the auto glass guy this morning and make the arrangements.

To me, though, it’s another in a series of lessons I’ve learned over the past awful year. That, yet again, is to maintain a state of eternal gratitude, as very difficult as it is from time to time.   And although I probably shouldn’t bring it up, this is the very essence — the heart, if you will, of true conservatism:  We take care of our own.  We find solutions for ourselves and for those about whom we care.   We don’t count on a safety net, although sometimes we do find ourselves relying on the kindness of strangers.  And then they aren’t strangers anymore.   When and if the time comes, the favor will be returned, if not directly, at  least through the positive energy… the karma, if you’re so inclined, that is generated.

This all may seem like a small thing to you.  To me, though, it is another life-affirming lesson.   And these are the things that keep my faith alive, and keep me going from day to day.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by TheF00L on May 4, 2010 at 7:39 AM

    And although I probably shouldn’t bring it up, this is the very essence — the heart, if you will, of true conservatism: We take care of our own. We find solutions for ourselves and for those about whom we care. We don’t count on a safety net, although sometimes we do find ourselves relying on the kindness of strangers. And then they aren’t strangers anymore. When and if the time comes, the favor will be returned, if not directly, at least through the positive energy… the karma, if you’re so inclined, that is generated.
    This all may seem like a small thing to you. To me, though, it is another life-affirming lesson. And these are the things that keep my faith alive, and keep me going from day to day.

    I could not have said it any better myself. It is amazing how every so often our faith in Human Nature can and is restored.

    This is the way it used to be “Back in the day.” You not only helped friends and neighbors out when in a sticky situation, you also helped strangers!

    Amazing when done right, the need for Government intervention in our daily lives is reduced 10 fold.

    Now, off of my soapbox and back to yours for a second. I am truly happy that good karma has come knocking on your door. May each and every day remind you of what we grew up with, “Back in the day.”

    Reply

  2. Posted by david maser on May 4, 2010 at 7:47 AM

    Well, you’re ahead, 2 to 1. Your windshield was smashed, but you weren’t injured or worse, and a stranger stepped up to help. Glad to hear you’re okay.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Just Jane on May 4, 2010 at 5:27 PM

    Hi, it’s Jane. You know, George’s wife, and a friend of Scott at Diamond Glass.

    It’s possible that it could have been an owl who hit the windshield. I’ve had a few close calls with them . . . they become intent on their prey and don’t pull out of their dive in time; or someone, indeed, tossed a bear cub into your path.

    We’ll be watching your blog, and you have two fans listening each day; keep up the good work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

