An Accounting, and An Update…

I thought it might be a good idea this morning to once again thank all of our friends and family who have helped us to get through our current difficult times, and to let you know what you have made possible through your help and humbling generosity.

You made it possible for Tammy to come to southern Illinois in my final days there.  Because of you, she was able to be there and help me to pack up the house, take care of final details, and be with me on the drive from Carterville to High Point, North Carolina.  I don’t know what I would have done without her there.

You made it possible for us to at least meet our very basic expenses, and to allow us some breathing room while Tammy seeks employment here… and while we’re waiting for my surgery to be scheduled.  You made it possible for us to keep gas in our cars, our phone bills paid (which, of course is of primary concern, as prospective employers have to have some way of getting in touch.)

Again, I can’t thank you enough… and I look forward to the day that we can start paying it forward.  And paying it forward has become our lives’ prime mission.  I am eager to get to the point where we can help others who find themselves going through crises.   It may be a pipe dream, but I’d love more than anything in the world to one day become a motivational speaker and writer… and to help others to realize that, always, there is hope.

At this moment, the morning of the 4th of July, my surgery has still not been scheduled, but it looks as though it’ll  be sometime next week… the week of July 11th.  Then, of course, comes my recovery period, about 4 to 6 weeks, and then, finally, I’ll be able to look for work.  I can do a limited amount now, and have been auditioning for voiceover and narration work through a couple of the companies I’m signed with.

And a great many people have urged me to write, perhaps in book form, about  the experiences and the awakenings I’ve had over the past couple of years.  I’ve written articles, essays, columns, and advertising copy, but never have contemplated something on the scale of an actual book.  Nonetheless, the more I think about it, the more intriguing the idea becomes.  It has been a strange and interesting journey… and I’ve learned a great deal about myself, human nature, and God over the past couple of years, so maybe a book would be a good idea.

We face a great many challenges ahead… not the least of which is the mountain of medical bills we’ll be facing.  But we have a great deal of faith and optimism, and know that somehow all of this will work out to the greater good.

Again, and always,  we remain humbly grateful for your help, your positive messages, your prayers and your moral support through these times.   We will never, ever forget what you have done for us, and will expand and multiply that to others in the years ahead.

Have a happy and safe 4th of July!

Love,

Steve & Tammy

Leave a Reply

